Skip to main content

The VCV Council

Visual Communication Victoria is run by a council of volunteers who have experience in the teaching of Visual Communication. Its charge is to control and manage the business and affairs of the Association including memberships, finances, the annual conference, website, resources and professional learning activities. The structure of the Council consists of a President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and 8 ordinary members. An Education Officer and Finance manager are employed by VCV.

Each year the officers of the Association and ordinary members of the committee are elected at the AGM. Other Council positions such as Trial Exam facilitator, Conference Coordinator/assistants, Resources Developers, CPTAV and Sponsorship Coordinator, Social Media manager and other positions as required are appointed at the first meeting of the elected committee members. Each officer holds the position until the next AGM and is eligible for re-election.

The Council meets once a month to address the needs of members, be informed of learning and teaching developments in the area of Visual Communication and to plan and support professional learning initiatives for teachers.

In addition, the council also acts on behalf of the teaching and learning community by;

  • Participating in the selection process for the VCE Season of Excellence – Top Designs;
  • Liaising closely with both the Victorian Department of Education (DEECD)  and Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority (VCAA);
  • Advocating for and in both state and national curriculum developments;
  • Assisting in the facilitation of network groups for both metropolitan and country areas;
  • Maintaining an informative and interactive web site;
  • Assisting in the production of a VCD Trial exam and other resources where required;
  • Facilitating Social Media sites such as Instagram.

2024 - 2025 Executive Team and Council Members

President : Geoff Baker
Vice President : Iolanthe Iezzi
Secretary : James Taylor
Treasurer : Mini Goss

Office Holders
Miguel Araujo, Melissa Avery, Christine Blake, Monica Costa, Anne Garofalo, Lisa Hass, Vanessa Riley, Jessica Rogosic

 Fiona Sinclair (Education Officer)
Svetlana Bodrina (Finance & Administrative Officer)

The Annual General Meeting for the year 2023-2024 was held on Thursday 23 May 2024.